The benefit of having hobbies…

I love this post because even though we make it seem easy. . .

Peggy Jaeger

Some people I know who shall forever and always remain nameless, still consider my writing a hobby.

Yeah…I know. I’m surprised they’re still breathing, too.

Anyway. Writing, as you know, is like oxygen to me. I need to write in order to live, much the way I need oxygen in order to survive. It’s not a hobby, but a necessary facet of my life. A hobby, on the other hand, is nice, but I don’t need to have one to live.

awriter

This got me to thinking, though, that having a hobby is a…good thing, to quote Martha Stewart. Hobbies distract us from the mundane aspects of our work lives; they bring us a little fun in a day that can be fun-less and soul-sucking. Hobbies can clear our minds of the detritus and negative energy our work can bring, and focus us instead on something positive and enriching.

hobbies

Now, my…

View original post 318 more words

One thought on “The benefit of having hobbies…

  1. Thanks, Linda – sometimes I wonder if what I write here, people actully read. A reblog shows me you not only read it…you liked it! LOL> Thanks again. PJ

    Like

Leave a Reply

